Long Overdue

Hey self! It’s been a while now!

So I totally forgot that I have this blog. I’ve been away for a month and a half because I went back to the Philippines to fetch my things and say goodbye (temporarily) to my favorite people. Last year, I’ve already sorted out my CV and Cover Letter, ready to be sent to prospective employers. Let me just tell you the struggles that I have encountered while writing my CV and Cover Letter.

  • Guide – I was told to never use a template while writing them, but to rather give you an idea and use them as your starting point to get ahead. After searching for a decent guide, I found an informative website which I was able to use (link below). It is undoubtedly helpful and complete. It also gives you advice on how to tailor your CV and Cover Letter to a particular job you are applying to, do’s and don’ts during an interview and it is a job finder website itself.
  • Selling yourself – Question. How can you do this when you’ve got ZERO work experience? And all your knowledge and skills are book-based. This is certainly a challenge. Eventually, being honest saved me from getting this done. I told the truth about not having an experience, but still keeping a positive and confident attitude that I am willing to be trained and I am eager to learn what is needed.
  • Keeping it concise  – This is quite funny because I have barely anything to say about myself and yet, I found it hard to keep my CV and cover letter brief and on point. I learned not to use “big” words, especially what I’m looking for is an entry-level job.

After a week, I managed to finish it. Word of advice: Just be yourself. Try to sound positive and make it appear that your passion to work is there.

Good luck to me! ‘Til next time!
MAE

-> CV Library

Leave a Reply

