Interesting turn of events

So here’s the thing: Praying works! A lot has happened in the past 2 weeks and I would like to think that these things would be the stepping-stones to my accounting career.

  1. Kitchen Duties.
    I finally had the courage to be productive instead of moping the whole day about not having an accounting job. So, I applied as a part-time Kitchen Assistant at a nursing home in our town, which is a 5-minute walk from home. I started working last Monday and I found it quite challenging because there is a lot to remember. From placing the equipment and utensils in the right cupboard to memorizing what the residents want for breakfast and to remembering the duties during each meal time. Nevertheless, I love how busy it is in the kitchen. You never ran out of things to do which makes the time go faster (LOL). The only downside is obviously not having a chance to sit down (except for the 15 minute break) because we need to walk around all the time. My feet hurt at the end of the shift but it’s still good exercise. Overall, I’m really glad that I decided to do this as it keeps me very busy, plus the pay is good!
  2. Readings.
    Before I got the part-time job, I have started to learn driving theories (I’m so excited to drive!) and also, practicing advanced MS Excel skills. These used to be my “trying-to-be-busy” attitude. I usually go to the public library to do some studying. I really wished I knew about the library when I was in high school. I could’ve done my studying over there (HAHA).

  1. Career Courses.
    Last Tuesday, I took a free course, held my MyGo at the local job centre. I was with other young adults who were also trying to find a job. Interestingly, on a first-impression basis, those people did not seem friendly. I don’t know, I just didn’t get a good vibe from them. Although, there was this one girl who was very nice and talked to me. But most of our conversations were about her. I was practically the listener (HAHA). Oh well, I did not mind though. She was cool. So, anyway the course went great. We were taught about the key skills that employers look for, did some goal setting and team building activities. My favourite part was the discussion about how social media can affect employment. It was really interesting how companies’ HRs are able to find our social media accounts and use them for our disadvantage base on things we post. Good thing my accounts are private (LOL). We also watched some motivational videos. It gets you to really think about your life goals. [links below]

AND FOR THE FINALE…

  1. FIRST INTERVIEW!
    On the same day I attended that career course, I got an email from the agency stating that a company would like to interview me for an Accounts Assistant job! I was extremely excited and the fact I got that email on my birthday was so overwhelming! The interview was today and I was so nervous because I only had a day to prepare (I had to work at the kitchen for half the day yesterday). But, thank God the people who interviewed me were very nice. They made me feel comfortable so I was able to answer most of the questions without stuttering too much. They also said I did very well (and I am so holding on to that). They were also impressed on how I answered some of the questions. It was nerve-wrecking at first, especially when you feel you didn’t answer their questions enough. Overall, I feel very thankful for the opportunity. And it was a great experience for me since I have never been formally interviewed before. There is going to be a second interview so I am hoping and will be praying that I passed first one. It is a tough spot to fill. I am up against three more candidates and I have no idea who they are. Best thing to do right now is to keep a positive mind and hope for the best (fingers crossed!)

Videos shown at MyGo Course: Can We Auto-Correct Humanity? ; Why Most People Die Before Age 25?

‘Til next time!
MAE

Leave a Reply

